• Board members

  • Gina Jones

    Gina Jones
    Position: Chair
    Appointed: 23 January 2018
    Term expires: 31 August 2023
    Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) nominated

    Gina Jones, FNZIA, FNZIOB, is a Registered Architect, with governance experience that is singularly construction focused.  Gina’s background includes: National President of the New Zealand Institute of Building (NZIOB), the inaugural National President of the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC), and Chair of the NZIOB Charitable Trust. Gina was a NZRAB/AERB assessor for over 25 years. Gina’s industry accolades include the prestigious NZIOB Medal (2009). Gina founded Accent Architects and ran the practice for 22 years, with her earlier career spent at Ampersand Architects (Director) via TWIA Architects (Graduate/Associate). Gina is currently National Lead Architecture at Catalyst Consulting in Wellington. Gina has taught Professional Practice (postgraduate) at VUW’s School of Architecture and has deepened her governance capability by completing several Institute of Directors (IoD) run training courses.

  • Murali Bhaskar

    Murali Bhaskar
    Appointed: 22 January 2019
    Term expires: 21 January 2023

    Murali Bhaskar, FNZIA, is a Registered Architect, Principal and Design Director of BOON Ltd as well as Director of Team Architects NZ Ltd and is based in New Plymouth. Murali has over 25 years of project experience, specialising in master planning, civic, community and cultural, urban design, tourism and education projects. Murali has been a Trustee of the Taranaki Health Foundation since 2013 and is a Trustee of the New Plymouth Art in Public Places Trust. He was born and educated in Kerala, South India.

  • Kimberly Browne

    Kimberly Browne
    Appointed: 3 October 2016
    Term expires: 21 January 2023
    Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) nominated

    Kimberly Browne is an Australian-educated New Zealand Registered Architect and an Associate Principal at Jasmax Limited.  Since arriving in Auckland in 2000, Kimberly has gained experience in the education, commercial and residential sectors much of it alongside NZIA gold-medal-winning Architect Marshall Cook. Kimberly returned to Jasmax in 2015 and has recently completed work on the new $220 million Faculty of Engineering Building for the University of Auckland. She has been an NZRAB Registration Assessor since 2011.

  • Rob Hall

    Rob Hall
    Appointed: 22 January 2019
    Term expires: 21 January 2023

    Rob Hall is a Chartered Surveyor and a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and previously of the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management. He was the Chief Executive Officer of Development Christchurch Limited during the post Canterbury earthquake regeneration phase in Christchurch and has extensive experience in development and programme management around the world. Rob is presently employed by Kāinga Ora, where he is proud of the opportunity to make a positive difference in Aotearoa New Zealand. He has an interest in sustainable urban redevelopment and how modern design impacts people and enhances our communities.

  • Judith Thompson

    Judith Thompson
    Appointed: 1 September 2020
    Term expires: 31 August 2022

    Judith Thompson is an experienced director with expertise in design and innovation and organisational transformation. As former Director of Design for New Zealand Trade and Enterprise and Head of Better by Design, Judith has worked closely with both the business and design sectors in New Zealand. She currently works as a consultant and Chairs AUT’s Property Committee. She is a Chartered member of the NZ Institute of Directors.

  • Louise Wright

    Louise Wright
    Appointed: 18 December 2014
    Term expires: 31 August 2023
    Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) nominated

    Te Arawa (Ngāti Whakaue, Ngāti Rangiwewehi), Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Rauhoto), Rongowhakaata, Te Aitanga ā Māhaki, Te Aitanga a Hauiti

    Louise Wright is a Registered Architect based in Arrowtown. Her practice, Assembly Architects Ltd, is a design-focused practice delivering mainly residential and boutique commercial projects in the Southern Lakes region. Prior to establishing Assembly with her husband Justin Wright, Louise was an Associate at Athfield Architects in Wellington. Louise is a member of the Jack’s Point Design Review Board, is on the Arrowtown Planning Advisory Group, and is on the NZIA Awards Advisory panel. In 2017, Louise convened the NZIA National Awards Jury, and in 2020 was awarded the Architecture+Women Wirihana Leadership Award.

  • Staff

  • Dougal McKechnie — Chief Executive

    Dougal joined the NZRAB in August 2021. He has a background largely in the public service — in the health, justice and emergency services sectors — where he has led organisations through technology and information management change and transformation. Many of the roles he has held have required managing relationships in complex sectors and across programmes of work, and a deep understanding of the machinery of Government. Previously, he was the Chief Executive of New Zealand Health IT.

  • Kylie Johnston — Executive Officer Public Protection

    Kylie joined the NZRAB in July 2021, and is responsible for managing the Board's complaints and disciplinary procedures. She has a background in regulation, initially working in the adjudications department of a UK health regulator, followed by seven years concerned with assessing applicants' fitness for registration for a NZ health regulator.


  • Jeremy Porima

    Jeremy Porima — Executive Officer Operations

    Waikato-Tainui, Kāi Tahu

    Prior to joining NZRAB in November 2020, Jeremy worked at Victoria University of Wellington for over 20 years. His most recent position was in the Faculty of Architecture and Design Innovation. Jeremy oversees the operational functions of the NZRAB executive, manages the CPD portal and points allocation for architects, and provides executive support to the Accreditation Management Panel.


  • Li Qiao

    Li Qiao — Executive Officer Finance

    Li joined us in January 2022 and is responsible for managing our financial systems and processes. She has a background in finance, including 4 years working for a pharmaceutical company in China, and 7 years in various hospitality businesses as Accounts Manager/Accountant. Prior to joining NZRAB, she worked for a major charity organisation and a tertiary education organisation in Wellington. Li is currently working towards a Chartered Accountancy qualification through Deakin University.