• Board members

  • Gina Jones

    Gina Jones
    Position: Chairperson
    Appointed 23 January 2018 - present term expires 31 August 2023
    Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) nominated

    Gina Jones, FNZIA, FNZIOB, is a Registered Architect, with governance experience that is singularly construction focused. Gina’s background includes:  National President of the New Zealand Institute of Building (NZIOB), the inaugural National President of the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC), and Chair of the NZIOB Charitable Trust.  Gina’s industry accolades include the prestigious NZIOB Medal (2009).  Gina founded Accent Architects and ran the practice for 22 years, with her earlier career spent at Ampersand Architects (Director) via TWIA Architects (Graduate/Associate).  Gina is currently an Architect Consultant at Catalyst Consulting in Wellington.  Gina has taught Professional Practice (post Graduate) at VUW’s School of Architecture, and has deepened her governance capability by completing several Institute of Directors (IoD) run training courses.

  • Marc Woodbury

    Marc Woodbury
    Position: Deputy Chairperson
    Appointed 2 May 2016 - present term expires 21 January 2023
    Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) nominated

    Marc Woodbury is a Registered Architect, and Principal of the Wellington Practice of Studio of Pacific Architecture Ltd.  Marc has over 20 years’ experience in the design and delivery of a diverse range of architectural projects.  Marc has an interest and knowledge in the area of sustainable architecture and at Studio Pacific organises the in-house Continuing Professional Development and mentoring programmes.  Marc is also an NZRAB registration assessor.

  • Murali Bhaskar

    Murali Bhaskar
    Appointed 22 January 2019 - present term expires 21 January 2023

    Murali Bhaskar, FNZIA, is a Registered Architect, Principal and Design Director of BOON Ltd as well as Director of Team Architects NZ Ltd and is based in New Plymouth.  Murali has over 25 years of project experience, specialising in master planning, civic, community and cultural, urban design, tourism and education projects.  Murali has been a Trustee of the Taranaki Health Foundation since 2013 and is a Trustee of the New Plymouth Art in Public Places Trust.  He was born and educated in Kerala, South India.

  • Kimberly Browne

    Kimberly Browne
    Appointed 3 October 2016 - present term expires 21 January 2023
    Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) nominated

    Kimberly Browne is an Australian-educated New Zealand Registered Architect and an Associate Principal at Jasmax Limited.  Since arriving in Auckland in 2000, Kimberly has gained experience in the education, commercial and residential sectors much of it alongside NZIA gold-medal-winning Architect Marshall Cook.  Kimberly returned to Jasmax in 2015 and has recently completed work on the new $220 million Faculty of Engineering Building for the University of Auckland.  She has been an NZRAB Registration Assessor since 2011.

  • Rob Hall

    Rob Hall
    Appointed 22 January 2019 - present term expires 21 January 2023

    Rob Hall is a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and previously of the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management.  He was the Chief Executive Officer of Development Christchurch Limited with extensive experience in development and programme management around the world.  Rob has an interest in sustainable urban redevelopment and how modern design impacts people and enhances our communities.

  • Judith Thompson

    Judith Thompson
    Appointed 1 September 2020 - present term expires 31 August 2022

    Judith Thompson is an experienced director with expertise in design and innovation and organisational transformation. As former Director of Design for New Zealand Trade and Enterprise and Head of Better by Design, Judith has worked closely with both the business and design sectors in New Zealand.  She currently works as a consultant and also Chairs AUT University’s Property Committee.  She is a Chartered member of NZ Institute of Directors.

  • Louise Wright

    Louise Wright
    Appointed 18 December 2014 - present term expires 31 August 2023
    Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA) nominated

    Te Arawa (Ngāti Whakaue, Ngāti Rangiwewehi), Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Rauhoto), Rongowhakaata, Te Aitanga a Māhaki, Te Aitanga a Hauiti

    Louise Wright is a Registered Architect based in Arrowtown.  Her practice, Assembly Architects Ltd is a design-focussed practice delivering mainly residential and boutique commercial projects in the Southern Lakes region.  Prior to establishing Assembly with her husband Justin Wright, Louise was an Associate at Athfield Architects in Wellington.  Louise is a member of the Jack’s Point Design Review Board, is on the Arrowtown Planning Advisory Group, and is on the NZIA Awards Advisory panel.  In 2017 Louise convened the NZIA National Awards Jury, and in 2020 was awarded the Architecture+Women Wirihana Leadership Award.

  • Staff

  • Margaret Bearsley - Chief Executive

    Margaret Bearsley was appointed in June 2020. Margaret was a practising lawyer and has previous experience in leading and advising statutory regulatory agencies. She also has experience in policy development and, most recently, provided governance assistance to a large Crown entity.


  • Kylie Johnston - Executive Officer Public Protection

    Kylie joined the NZRAB in July 2021, and is responsible for managing the Board's complaints and disciplinary procedures. She has a background in regulation, initially working in the adjudications department of a UK health regulator, followed by seven years concerned with assessing applicants' fitness for registration for a NZ health regulator.


  • Jeremy Porima

    Jeremy Porima - Executive Officer Operations

    Waikato-Tainui, Kāi Tahu

    Prior to joining NZRAB in November 2020, Jeremy worked at Victoria University of Wellington for over 20 years. His most recent position was in the Faculty of Architecture and Design Innovation. Jeremy oversees the operational functions of the NZRAB executive, manages the CPD portal and points allocation for architects, and provides executive support to the APAP ANZ NZ Management Panel.


  • Trudy Rook

    Trudy Rook - Executive Officer Registration

    Trudy started with the NZRAB on 5 January 2021. Her background is in the Regulatory Sector, with many years of experience working within two separate New Zealand Health Secretariats particularly in the registration and competency areas. She manages the NZRAB's registration rounds. Trudy has a passion for health, safety and wellbeing.


  • Debbie Southworth - Financial Officer (part-time)

    Debbie Southworth is a UK accounting technician. Debbie previously worked in various finance functions, primarily in the advertising industry. Debbie manages the NZRAB's finances and financial reporting.


  • Trudy Rook

    Bronwyn Chin - Registration Officer (part-time)

    Bronwyn joined the NZRAB in March 2021. She comes from the education sector where she was a sports coordinator for a large high school overseeing thirty plus sports codes. Before this she worked in the public sector in communication roles both at the Ministry of Justice, and the Leadership Development Centre. She is kept busy in her personal time with her family and all their sporting activities, along with the odd yoga class.